Newcastle Based Nigerian Writer makes the shortlist of the 2022 Morland Writing Scholarships.

The Miles Morland Foundation has announced the shortlist for the 2022 Morland Writing Scholarships. With well over 500 entries from published authors. Nineteen writers were shortlisted from the large pool of submissions, which included the winner of the Quramo Writers’ Prize 2022, Ibrahim Babátúndé Ibrahim, who is based in Newcastle upon Tyne.

Ibrahim Babátúndé Ibrahim

Morland Writing Scholarship 2022 had shortlisted writers from nine African Countries, which includes: Nigeria (9), South Africa (2), Kenya (2), Ghana (1), Zambia (1), Tanzania (1), Gambia (1) Malawi (1), and Zimbabwe (1).

Aba Asibon (Ghana)

Tarfa Benson (Nigeria)

Joshua Chizoma (Nigeria)

Eguono Edafioka (Nigeria)

Ibrahim Ibrahim (Nigeria)

Hymar Idibie (Nigeria)

Amanda Ilozumba (Nigeria)

Mubanga Kalimamukwento (Zambia)

Muhammad L. Kejera (Gambia)

Kiprop Kimutai (Kenya)

Neema Komba (Tanzania)

Wesley Macheso (Malawi)

Keletso Mopai (South Africa)

Chido Muchemwa (Zimbabwe)

Wairimũ Mũrĩithi (Kenya)

Mphuthumi Ntabeni (South Africa)

Chika Oduah (Nigeria)

Lanre Otaiku (Nigeria)

Obinna Udenwe (Nigeria)

The shortlisted submissions are then sent to the judges who meet on Nov 23rd in London to decide who this year’s Morland Writing Scholars will be with the announcement being made on Nov 24th. The 2022 judges are Muthoni Garland in the chair, assisted by Bibi Bakare-Yusuf and Chuma Nwokolo.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *